NNAM 2007


Second International Conference
on Neural Networks and Associative Memories


In conjunction with Magnum Conference on Computing

November 4 to 9, 2007
Mexico City, Mexico









 Download the first CFP in PDF 


NNAM 2007, International Conference on Neural Networks and Associative Memories, aims to bring together researchers in the fields of Neural Networks and Associative Memories. The conference will address recent advances in theory, methodologies and applications. The scientific program will include invited speakers and fully refereed contributions that will be published in the conference proceedings. NNAM 2007 will be hosted by The National Polytechnic Institute of Mexico. NNAM 2007 will be a major international conference and provide a stimulating scientific environment for academics, industry and researchers to exchange their views and have a chance for in-depth face-to-face discussions. 


NNAM 2007 welcomes contributions on the theory, algorithms, applications and implementations in the following broad areas:


  • Computational neuroscience.
  • Connectionist cognitive science.
  • Data analysis and pattern recognition.
  • Graphical networks models, Bayesian networks.
  • Hardware implementations and embedded systems.
  • Neural and hybrid architectures and learning algorithms.
  • Neural control, reinforcement learning and robotics applications.
  • Neuroinformatics.
  • Neural dynamics and complex systems.
  • Real world applications.
  • Robotics, control, planning.
  • Signal and time series processing.
  • Self-organization.
  • Vision and image processing.






  • Full paper submissions due:
  • Notification of acceptances:
  • Final camera-ready papers due:


EXTENDED: JULY 10, 2007.

August 24, 2007.

September 21, 2007.




Confirmed Keynote Speaker 



Professor Martin Hagan

Oklahoma State University





All papers accepted for oral presentation will be published in the Journal Research in Computing Science ISSN 1665-9899. Authors should submit original previously unpublished research papers written in English. Papers submitted for consideration for the oral session should strictly following the LNCS/LNAI format guidelines (see also here) and not exceed 10 pages in this format. All submissions will be subject to blind peer review and thus must not contain the names of the authors or other indications of the authors' identity (such as auto-references). Submissions not following formatting guidelines or revealing the authors' identity may be rejected without review.

Submissions are received electronically. We strongly encourage you to register an abstract and title as soon as you have it ready, as expression of interest. Paper submission is handled via the web submission system:




Besides, authors of the two best papers will be asked to prepare an extended version of their papers to be published in the Journal Computer Science and Systems, ISSN 1405-5546, indexed by CONACYT-Mexico, LatinIndex, Redalic and E-Journal.



Humberto Sossa, CIC-IPN, Mexico (hsossa@cic.ipn.mx)

Ricardo Barrón, CIC-IPN, Mexico (rbarron@cic.ipn.mx)

Edgardo Felipe, CIC-IPN, México (edgardo@cic.ipn.mx)


NNAM 2007 is co-sponsored by (IPN) National Polytechnic Institute of Mexico and The National Council for Science and Technology of Mexico.



Cultural Program:


Visit to the Anthropological Museum of Mexico.

Excursion to Teotihuacan: ancient Indian pyramids, one hour drive, much (but slow) walking.

Excursion to Cacahuamilpa and Taxco: great cave and colonial city, 2 hours drive, much (slow) walking.






For more information about the conference, please visit:





Program Committee



  • Akira Hirose, University of Tokyo, JAPAN
  • Alexander Poznyak, CINVESTAV-IPN, MEXICO
  • Alfredo Weitzenfeld, ITAM, MEXICO
  • Amir Hussain, University of Stirling, UK
  • Andrés Pérez Uribe, HEIG-VD, SWITZERLAND
  • Andrzej Cichocki, Brain Science Institute RIKEN, JAPAN
  • Anne Guérin, CLIP-IMAG, FRANCE
  • Antonio Bahamonde, University of Oviedo, SPAIN
  • Antony Satyadas, IBM, Cambridge, USA
  • Arturo Hernández, CIMAT, MEXICO
  • Bart Kosko, USCL, USA
  • Brijesh Verna, Central Queensland University, AUSTRALIA
  • Bruno Gas, UPMC, Paris, FRANCE
  • Carlo F. Morabito, University of Reggio Calabria, ITALY
  • Carlos A. Reyes, INAOE, MEXICO
  • Changyin Sun, Hohai University, CHINA
  • Changjiu Zhou, Singapore Polytechnic, SINGAPURE
  • Chilukuri K. Mohan, University, Syracuse, USA
  • Christophe García, France Telécom, FRANCE
  • Colin Fyfe, University of Paisley, UK
  • Danilo Manidic, Imperial College of London, UK
  • David A. Elizondo, Monfort University Leicester, UK
  • David Hoyle, University of Manchester, UK
  • Delian Wang, Ohio State University, USA
  • Derong Liu, University of Illinois, Chicago, USA
  • Dionisio Suárez, IEE, MEXICO
  • Du Zhang, California State University, Sacramento, USA
  • Eduardo Gómez, U. La Salle, MEXICO
  • Elmar W. Lang, Regensburg University, GERMANY
  • Exiquio Leyva, CUJAE, CUBA
  • Fabián Theis, Regensburg University, GERMANY
  • Francesco Masulli, U. La Spezia, Genova, ITALY
  • Francisco Cervantes, UNAM, MEXICO
  • Francisco Cuevas, CIO, MEXICO
  • Franz Wotawa, T. Universitaet Graz, GERMANY
  • Georgios Anagnostopoulos, Florida I. Technology, USA
  • Gustavo Arroyo, IEE, MEXICO
  • Héctor Pérez, ESIME-IPN, MEXICO
  • Huaguang Zhang, Northeastern University, CHINA
  • Ieroham S. Baruch, CINVESTAV-IPN, MEXICO
  • Janusz Kacprzyk, Polish Academy of Sciences, POLAND
  • Jeanny Hérault, INPG, FRANCE
  • Jesus Cid-Sueiro, Unv. Carlos III, SPAIN
  • José A. Ruz Hernández, Univ. Autónoma del Carmen,  MEXICO
  • Johan Suykens, University of Leuven, BELGIUM
  • John Taylor, Kings College, University of London, UK
  • José Dorronsoro, U.. Autónoma de Madrid, SPAIN
  • Juan Arturo Nolazco, ITESM, MEXICO
  • Juan Flores, U. Michoacana, MEXCO
  • Khurshid Ahmad, University of Dublin, IRELAND
  • Klaus Obermayer, Technical University of Berlin, GERMANY
  • Kunihiko Fukushima, Kansai University, Osaka, JAPAN
  • Liang Chen, Univ. of Northern British Columbia, CANADA
  • Lipo Wang, Nanyang University, SINGAPURE
  • Luiza de Macedo, State University of Rio de Janeiro, BRAZIL
  • Marcilio C. P. De Souto, DIMAP-UFRN, BRAZIL
  • Manuel Mejía Lavalle, IEE, MEXICO
  • Marcos Eduaro Valle, State University of Campinas, BRAZIL
  • Marley Vellasco, P. U. C. Rio de Janeiro, BRAZIL
  • Michael Hasselmo, Boston University, USA
  • Michael Small, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, HONG KONG
  • Miguel A. Garcell, CUJAE, CUBA
  • Mohamed Chetouani, University of Paris VI, FRANCE
  • Nikola Kasabov, Auckland U. of Technology, NEW ZELAND
  • Oscar Castillo, Instituto Tecnológico de Tijuana, MEXICO
  • Okyay Kaynak, Bogazici University, Bebek, TURKEY
  • Paolo Lisboa, University of John Moores, Liverppol, UK
  • Patricia Rayón, ITESM, MEXICO
  • Peter Andras, Newcastle, UK
  • Péter Érdi, Budapest, HU & Kalamazoo, USA
  • Peter Susner, State University of Campinas, Brazil
  • Peter Szolgay, Hungarian Academy of Sciences, HUNGARY
  • Raúl Gardúño Ramírez, IEE, MEXICO
  • Raúl Rojas, Freie Universität Berlin, GERMANY
  • René V. Mayorga, University of Regina, CANADA
  • Richard Duro, University of Coruña , SPAIN
  • Rogelio Soto, ITESM-CM, MEXICO
  • Sanqing Hu, Mayo Clinic at Rochester, USA
  • Sergi Bermejo, University of Catalunya, SPAIN
  • Sheng Chen, University of Southampton, UK
  • Shinichiro Omachi, Tokoku University, JAPAN
  • Soo-Young Lee, KAIST, KOREA
  • Stan Gielen, University of Nijmegen, NETHERLANDS
  • Stefanos Kollias, University of Athens, GRECE
  • Teresa Ludermir, Federal University of Pernambuco, BRAZIL
  • Witold Pedrycz, University of Alberta, CANADA
  • Xavier Vilasis Cardona, University Ramón Llull, SPAIN
  • XiaoHui Liu, Brunel University, UK
  • Xinghuo Yu, RMIT, AUSTRALIA
  • Yohsuke KINOUCHI, University of Tokushima, JAPAN
  • Zeng-Guang Hou, Chinese Academy of Sciences, CHINA