NNAM 2006


First International Conference
on Neural Networks and Associative Memories



 NEW: Final program

List of accepted papers 

 click here 


In conjunction with Magnum Conference on Computing


November 21 to 24, 2006
Mexico City, Mexico

 In celebration of 
70th Anniversary of IPN -- National Polytechnic Institute
10th Anniversary of CIC -- Center for Computing Research
15th Anniversary of CIC -- International Conference on Computing






 Download the FINAL CFP in PDF 


NNAM 2006 - International Conference on Neural Networks and Associative Memories aims to bring together researchers in the fields of Neural Networks and Associative Memories. The conference will address recent advances in theory, methodologies and applications. The scientific program will include invited speakers and fully refereed contributions that will be published in the conference proceedings. NNAM 2006 will be hosted by The National Polytechnic Institute of Mexico. NNAM 2006 will be a major international conference and provide a stimulating scientific environment for academics, industry and researchers to exchange their views and have a chance for in-depth face-to-face discussions.


NNAM 2006 welcomes contributions on the theory, algorithms, applications and implementations in the following broad areas:


  • Computational neuroscience.

  • Connectionist cognitive science.

  • Data analysis and pattern recognition.

  • Graphical networks models, Bayesian networks.

  • Hardware implementations and embedded systems.

  • Neural and hybrid architectures and learning algorithms.

  • Neural control, reinforcement learning and robotics applications.

  • Neuroinformatics.

  • Neural dynamics and complex systems.

  • Real world applications.

  • Robotics, control, planning.

  • Signal and time series processing.

  • Self-organization.

  • Vision and image processing.




  • Full paper submissions due:

  • Notification of acceptances:

  • Final camera-ready papers due:


EXTENDED: September 1, 2006.

September 15, 2006.

October 13, 2006.

 Confirmed Keynote Speaker 


Prof. Bernard Widrow

Stanford University




All papers accepted for oral presentation will be published in the Journal Research in Computing Science ISSN 1665-9899. Authors should submit original previously unpublished research papers written in English.

Papers submitted for consideration for the oral session should strictly following the LNCS/LNAI format guidelines (see also here) and not exceed 10 pages in this format.

All submissions will be subject to blind peer review and thus must not contain the names of the authors or other indications of the authors'
identity (such as auto-references). Submissions not following formatting guidelines or revealing the authors' identity may be rejected without review.

Submissions are received electronically through the  SUBMISSION PAGE . We strongly encourage you to register an abstract and title as soon as you have it ready, as expression of interest.




Humberto Sossa, CIC-IPN, Mexico (hsossa@cic.ipn.mx)

Ricardo Barrón, CIC-IPN, Mexico (rbarron@cic.ipn.mx)


NNAM 2006 is co-sponsored by (IPN) National Polytechnic Institute of Mexico and The National Council for Science and Technology of Mexico.




Cultural Program:


  • Visit to the Anthropological Museum of Mexico (Nov 20).

  • Excursion to Teotihuacan: ancient Indian pyramids, one hour drive, much (but slow) walking (Nov 21).

  • Excursion to Cacahuamilpa and Taxco: great cave and colonial city, 2 hours drive, much (slow) walking (Nov 25).






For more information about the conference, please visit:




Program Committee


  • Alejandro Rosete, CUJAE, CUBA

  • Alessandro E.P. Villa, Université Joseph Fourier, FRANCE

  • Alexander Poznyak, CINVESTAV-IPN, MEXICO

  • Alfredo Weitzenfeld, ITAM, MÉXICO

  • Andre Ponce de Leon, U. Sao Paolo, BRAZIL

  • Ángel Kuri, ITAM, MEXICO

  • Antonio Bahamonde, University of Oviedo, SPAIN

  • Arturo Hernández, CIMAT, MEXICO

  • Bart Kosko, USCL, USA

  • Bernard Widrow, Stanford University, USA

  • Bert Kappen, U. of Nijmegen, NL

  • Carkis A. Reyes, INAOE, MEXICO

  • Changyin Sun, Hohai University, CHINA

  • Changjiu Zhou, Singapore Polytechnic U., SINGAPURE

  • Chilukuri K. Mohan, University, Syracuse, USA

  • Christian Jutten, Institute N. P. Grenoble, Fr

  • Christophe García, France Telécom, FRANCE

  • Danil Prokhorov, Ford Motor Company, USA

  • David Hoyle, University of Manchester, UK

  • Derek Partridge, University of Exeter, UK

  • Du Zhang, California State University, Sacramento, USA

  • Edgar Sánchez, CINVESTAV-IPN, MEXICO

  • Eduardo Gómez, U. La Salle, MEXICO

  • Exiquio Leyva, CUJAE, CUBA

  • Francesco Masulli, U. La Spezia, Genova, IT

  • Francesco Morabito, University of Reggio Calabria, ITALY

  • Franz Wotawa, T. Universitaet Graz, GER

  • Georgios Anagnostopoulos, Florida I. Technology, USA

  • Giacomo Indiveri, I. Neuroinformatics, CH

  • Gustavo Arroyo, Inst. de Invs. Eléctricas, MEXICO

  • Héctor Pérez, ESIME-IPN, MEXICO

  • Huaguang Zhang, Northeastern University, CHINA

  • Ieroham S. Baruch, CINVESTAV-IPN, MÉXICO

  • Janusz Kacprzyk, Polish Academy of Sciences, POLAND

  • Jesús Favela, CICESE, MEXICO

  • Jesus Cid-Sueiro, Unv. Carlos III, SPAIN

  • José A. Ruz Hernández, Univ. Autónoma del Carmen, MEXICO

  • Wlodzislaw Duch, Torun, PL & SINGAPURE

  • Xiao Hui Liu, Brunel University, UK

  • Jesús G. Figueroa, CIC-IPN, MEXICO

  • John Qiang Gan, University of Essex, UK

  • José Dorronsoro, U.. Autónoma de Madrid, SPAIN

  • Juan Flores, U. Michoacana, MEXCO

  • Juan Pedro Febles, CNB, CUBA

  • Klaus Obermayer, Technical University of Berlin, GE

  • Khurshid Ahmad, University of Dublin, IRELAND

  • Lipo Wang, Nanyang University, SINGAPURE

  • Luiza de Macedo, State University of Rio de Janeiro, BRAZIL

  • Marcilio C. P. De Souto, DIMAP-UFRN, BRAZIL

  • Manuel Graña, Universidad Pais Vasco, SPAIN

  • Manuel Mejía Lavalle, Inst. de Invs. Eléctricas, MEXICO

  • Marley Vellasco, P. U. C. Rio de Janeiro, BRAZIL

  • Marcos Eduaro Valle, State University of Campinas, BRAZIL

  • Miguel Á. Garay Garcell,  CUJAE, CUBA

  • Nikolaos Bourbakis, Wright State Univ., USA

  • Nikola Kasabov, Auckland U. of Technology, N. ZELAND

  • Oscar Castillo, Instituto Tecnológico de Tijuana, MÉXICO

  • Okyay Kaynak, Bogazici University, Bebek, TURKEY

  • Patricia Melin, Instituto Tecnológico de Tijuana, MÉXICO

  • Patricia Rayón, ITESM, MEXICO

  • Pedro Y. Piñero Pérez, U. de Ciencias Informáticas, CUBA

  • Peter Andras, Newcastle, UK

  • Péter Érdi, Budapest, HU & Kalamazoo, USA

  • Peter Sussner, State University of Campinas, BRAZIL

  • Peter Szolgay, Hungarian Academy of Sciences, HUNGARY

  • Raúl Gardúño Ramírez, Inst. de Invs. Eléctricas, MEXICO

  • Raúl Rojas, Freie Universität Berlin, GERMANY

  • Richard Duro, University of Coruña , SPAIN

  • Rogelio Soto, ITESM-CM, MÉXICO

  • Sanqing Hu, The University of Illinois at Chicago, USA

  • Soo-Young Lee, KAIST, KOREA

  • Stan Gielen, University of Nijmegen, NETHERLANDS

  • Teresa Ludermir, CIn-UFPE

  • Witold Pedrycz, University of Alberta, CANADA